Oklahoma Sex Offender Registration Laws and Requirements
Registering as a sex offender can alter the rest of your life. Contact our Oklahoma City-based law firm today for legal help.
If you have been convicted of a sex offense in Oklahoma, you may be required by law to register as a sex offender with the state when you are released from prison. Depending on the nature and severity of your sex crime conviction, sex offender registration requirements may dictate that you must update your personal contact information and place of residence with local and state authorities for a period of years, or possibly for the rest of your life. Failure of an sex offender to adhere to these requirements is a felony offense in Oklahoma, and is punishable by up to five years in prison. If you don't fully understand the actions required of you by the state of Oklahoma after being convicted of a sex crime, contact our experienced defense attorneys at Atkins & Markoff to discuss how you should proceed.
Sex Offender Registration Requirements
In Oklahoma, there is a law in effect called the Sex Offenders Registration Act, which details registration requirements for those considered by the state to be habitual or aggravated sex offenders. The provisions of this Act apply to any person convicted of a sex offense in Oklahoma, and requires that the person:
- Register with the Department of Corrections within ten (10) business days of being convicted or of receiving a suspended sentence if the person is not incarcerated, or within ten (10) business days of the person's release from a correctional institution; and
- Register with the local law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction in the area where the person resides or intends to reside for more than seven (7) days. The person is required to register within seven (7) days of entering the jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency.
If a person was convicted of a related sex offense in another jurisdiction after November 1, 1989, and would have fallen under the requirements of this Act in Oklahoma, he or she must:
- Register with the Department of Corrections when he or she enters the state and intends to be in the state for thirty (30) days or longer. Registration in this case is required within thirty (30) days after entering the state; and
- Register with the local law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction in the area where he or she intends to reside or stay for more than seven (7) days. This registration is required within seven (7) days of entering the jurisdiction of the law enforcement agency.
Sex Offender Tier System in Oklahoma
In Oklahoma, sex offenders are assigned to a tier system based on their perceived risk of committing another sex offense. Tier 1 offenders – the least serious – are required to register with local and state authorities every year for 15 years, while Tier 2 offenders are required to register their information every six months for 25 years, and Tier 3 offenders – the most serious – are required to register contact information with local and state authorities every 90 days for the rest of their lives. In addition to requiring sex offender registration for individuals convicted of sex crimes against children, the state of Oklahoma has also established a “zone of safety,” which prohibits sex offenders from residing or loitering within 500 feet of schools, playgrounds, childcare facilities and parks.
Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
Any person convicted of a sex-related crime against children in Oklahoma is required to abide by the laws associated with the Sex Offenders Registration Act. This includes not only updating contact information with the proper authorities, but may also involve submitting to DNA sampling and other actions required by law enforcement. For those who fail to properly register as a sex offender or maintain current contact information with the state, Oklahoma laws have established strict penalties. Failure to register as a sex offender is a felony offense in Oklahoma, and is punishable by up to five years in prison.
Contact Our Skilled Defense Attorneys for Help
Registering as a sex offender with the state of Oklahoma can significantly affect your personal and professional life, dictating where you can live and work, and for those who fail to adhere to sex offender registration requirements, the punishment is severe. If you have been convicted of a sex crime against a child or minor, and you have questions about one or more components of the Sex Offender Registration Act, contact our defense lawyers at Atkins & Markoff as soon as possible. There is a way to abide by the registration requirements Oklahoma imparts on habitual or aggravated sex offenders, while also living a relatively normal life. Tommy Adler and his team of criminal defense attorneys have years of experience navigating the sometimes complicated legal system and helping those convicted of sex crimes get on with their lives. Contact Atkins & Markoff today and get the help you need.